Constituent Statistics

  • Constituent Service By The Numbers

  • 114

    Town Halls Hosted

  • 8,431

    Constituent Cases Resolved

  • 591,303

    Correspondence Replied To

Congressman Rob Woodall

Representing the 7th District of Georgia

House Votes to Rein in Regulators

July 28, 2015
Press Release

(Washington, DC) – Today, U.S. Representative Rob Woodall (GA 07) issued the following statement in response to House passage of H.R 427, the “Regulations from the Executive in Need of Scrutiny (REINS) Act.”  The legislation amends the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to require congressional approval of major agency regulations before they may go into effect.

“A responsible regulatory environment has its benefit, but with unelected bureaucrats imposing more than 3,500 new regulations on American businesses in 2014 and over 2,300 in 2015 so far, it is the American worker and our economy that pays the price – an estimated $1.9 trillion just last year, according to the Competitive Enterprise Institute,” said Rep. Woodall. “The burden of excessive regulation is carried by the American people, and they should certainly have a say in the process.  By requiring the support of the people’s elected representatives in Congress, this legislation ensures that their voice is heard – and that irresponsible regulations don’t wreak havoc on our job-creators back home.” 

“Providing an effective government that works for the American people isn’t a partisan issue, and in fact, it was President Obama who in a January 18, 2011, Wall Street Journal op-ed acknowledged that over-regulation limits innovation and negatively affects economic growth.  It is my hope he will now use this opportunity to join the American people in taking a commonsense step towards accountability.”

Congressman Woodall represents the Seventh Congressional District of Georgia, which includes the majority of Forsyth and Gwinnett counties, and currently serves as Chairman of the Rules Subcommittee on Legislative and Budget Process, as well as serving on the Transportation & Infrastructure Committee, and Budget Committee.