Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Rob Woodall

Representing the 7th District of Georgia

Woodall Joins GA Delegation in Calling on USDA to Designate GA Counties as Disaster Areas

September 1, 2011
Press Release

LAWRENCEVILLE, GA – Due to the extreme heat and drought the State of Georgia has endured since March of this year, Congressman Rob Woodall (R-GA) joined the following members of the Georgia Congressional Delegation in sending a letter to U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Tom Vilsack asking that he review a request sent by Governor Nathan Deal to designate any eligible counties as “Secretarial Disaster Areas”:

Senator Johnny Isakson
Senator Saxby Chambliss
Congressman Sanford Bishop
Congressman John Barrow
Congressman Jack Kingston
Congressman Austin Scott
Congressman Lynn Westmoreland
Congressman John Lewis
Congressman David Scott
Congressman Phil Gingery
Congressman Hank Johnson

Secretarial Disaster Areas are eligible for emergency federal funding under the Farm Service Agency.  Once a county is declared a Secretarial Disaster Area, famers in that county have eight months from the date of declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance. 

“Agriculture is a major contributor to Georgia’s economy.  The extreme weather conditions in the great state of Georgia have had a severe impact on our farmers and producers and unfortunately, we will need to do more than just pray for rain in order to sustain what comprises the backbone of our economy.  I am proud to join Governor Deal and my Congressional colleagues in urging Secretary Vilsack to remain vigilant to the needs of our state,” Woodall said.

A copy of the Congressional letter is available here.

A copy of Governor Deal’s original request is available here.